In the past the Chianti denomination has been too often used to point out all the central Tuscan area where red wine was produced, confusing the wine with the country.

 Actually Chaintishire is that particular geografic area limited by The Chainti Mounts (Western side of Valdarno) on the East, river Pesa and Elsa on the West, Impruneta area due North and the Siena-Bettolle line due South. Inside this area the DOCG and DOP Chainti Classico - famous all over the world for their peculiar characteristics and quality -  are produced

Only 5 municipalities have their country completely included in the Chianti Classico area: Castelnuovo Berardenga, Castellina in Chianti, Radda in Chianti, Gaiole in Chianti in Senese county and Greve in Chianti in Florentine county. Some other municipalities - Barberino Val d’Elsa, Impruneta, Poggibonsi, Tavernelle Val di Pesa - have only part of their country included in the Chianti Classico area.


chiudi questa finestra